Meet Our Staff

Sacred Heart Catholic Church
1201 E. Bogard Road
Wasilla, Alaska  99654
Phone: (907) 376-5087

Fr Joseph Mc Gilloway
Pastor
Please contact the office first for assistance.

Fr Michael Ko
Parochial Vicar
FrMichael@sacredheartwasilla.org

Father Stan Allie
Pastor Emeritus
stan@mtaonline.net

Julie DeKreon
Director Faith Formation
julie@sacredheartwasilla.org

Alysha Devine 
Kaley Devine Severance

Youth Ministry
YouthMinistry@sacredheartwasilla.org

Diane Ferguson
Executive Secretary
diane@sacredheartwasilla.org

Beverly Serrano
Office Assistant
beverly@sacredheartwasilla.org


Thomas Maiman
Bookkeeper
thomas@sacredheartwasilla.org

Deacon Jay Cable
jecable@mtaonline.net

Deacon Dave Schutt
schutt@gci.net

Deacon Jon Hermon
hermon@mtaonline.net






This page has been updated:
July 7, 2017

 

Fr Joseph distributing the Eucharist at Sacred Heart



September 2017

Fr. Joseph Mc Gilloway was born in Derry, Ireland. At age 17, he began seminary studies, but after two years he decided to take some discernment time – which lasted 9 years.  During this time, he developed his interest in Irish and European politics and was elected to the governing board of Fine Gael, the largest political party in Ireland. However, his call to the priesthood persisted, and after reading the Rule of St. Benedict, he entered the Benedictine Order at Glenstal Abbey in January 1998. From there he continued his studies at the Pontifical University of St. Thomas Aquinas in Rome.  In 2003, on the feast day of St Teresa Benedicta of the Cross, he was ordained priest.

Fr. Joseph’s past work includes teaching at the monastery secondary school and serving as chaplain to Benedictine nuns at Kylemore Abbey in Ireland.  On his first visit to Alaska in 2009 he ministered at parishes in Talkeetna, Trapper Creek, Dutch Harbor, and Eagle River.

An avid sportsman, Alaska captured his soul and with permission of his Abbot and Archbishop Schwietz, he returned to Alaska in 2014. In June 2016, he left the Benedictine Order to become a priest of the Archdiocese of Anchorage.

Sacred Heart welcomes Fr. Joseph as our newest pastor and we look forward to many years of his energy and gifts.